Connect with us


Ja Rule Asserts It’s “Statistically Impossible” to Exclude Him from Top 50 Rappers List



Ja Rule, notably absent from Billboard and VIBE’s Top 50 Greatest Rappers of All Time list, defends his claim as one of the genre’s elite during an appearance on The Tamron Hall Show. The “Always on Time” rapper challenges the methodology behind the list, emphasizing the subjective nature of music preferences.

Expressing his dissatisfaction with the initial exclusion on X, Ja Rule took to social media, stating, “There ain’t 50 rappers dead, alive or waiting to be born better than me.” However, during his interview on The Tamron Hall Show, he delved deeper into his critique, maintaining that a list rooted in numbers and statistics, such as Billboard’s, is incomplete without his inclusion.

While acknowledging that music is subjective, Ja Rule questioned the validity of a list based on criteria like sales, certifications, cultural impact, longevity, lyrics, and flow. He defended his case, pointing out that certain artists lack number one records or albums but are still recognized. Ja Rule emphasized that his significant contributions to the late ’90s and early ’00s Hip Hop scene, marked by hits like “Always on Time,” “I’m Real,” “Mesmerize,” and “New York,” should secure his spot.

Despite not releasing an album since 2012’s Pain is Love 2, which debuted at No. 197 on the Billboard 200, Ja Rule highlights his career achievements, including over 30 million records sold and two Billboard Hot 100 number one singles. The rapper is currently working on a new album that he promises to be a “classic.”

Ja Rule is not the only commercially successful artist omitted from the Top 50 Rappers list, with others like Nelly, Fat Joe, The Game, Big Boi, and Talib Kweli also absent from the rankings. The debate over the subjectivity and criteria of such lists continues in the hip-hop community.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2024